The Official DENGUE FEVER Store

LPs  •  EPs  •  Singles  •  DVD  •  Limited Edition  •  Apparel & Merch  •  Packages  •  $5

Released November 27, 2012
© 2012 TUK TUK Records
Escape From Dragon House (Deluxe Edition)
DENGUE FEVER's debut album was all covers of the cute, romantic Cambodian pop of the 1960s. Having gotten that out of their systems, they've followed it with an album of original material that shatters the language barrier with mildly psychedelic, blissed out pop. On "Tip My Canoe", Zac Holtzman takes a stab at singing in Khmer, laying those long, mellifluous syllables over a tweaky vamp, as Nimol uses her imposing pipes to trace accents so dynamic that they sound almost vocodered as she leaps around her impressive range. "Sni Bong" channels Dick Dale through its verses and explodes into crunchy garage rock choruses, with a-- wait for it-- Cambodian rap bridge. "One Thousand Tears of a Tarantula" pairs sun-baked spaghetti western guitars with Nimol's clipped, forceful singing, and acoustic ballad "Hummingbird" closes the album on a quiet note, with Nimol sliding between English and Khmer. If that fact that Dengue Fever's music has been used in films as diverse as Jim Jarmusch's Broken Flowers and the John Cusack vehicle Must Love Dogs isn't proof enough of its potent versatility, then the ease and unity with which the band conflates idioms should be. The Deluxe Reissue contains 4 bonus tracks not availble on the original release. Source:
Track Title Time Price  
01. We Were Gonna 3:21 $0.99 Add to Cart
02. Sni Bong 4:27 $0.99 Add to Cart
03. Tip My Canoe 4:43 $0.99 Add to Cart
04. Tap Water 4:05 $0.99 Add to Cart
05. Sleepwalking Through the Mekong 3:39 $0.99 Add to Cart
06. One Thousand Tears of a Tarantula 6:41 $0.99 Add to Cart
07. Escape From Dragon House 4:21 $0.99 Add to Cart
08. Made of Steam 5:55 $0.99 Add to Cart
09. Lake Dolores 4:15 $0.99 Add to Cart
10. Saran Wrap 2:47 $0.99 Add to Cart
11. Hummingbird 5:06 $0.99 Add to Cart
12. Escape From Dragon House (Live at The Shoebox)* 4:17 $0.99 Add to Cart
13. Sni Ha (Live at The Shoebox)* 3:15 $0.99 Add to Cart
14. Made of Steam (Mechanical Pencil Remix)* 6:25 $0.99 Add to Cart
15. Sleepwalking Through the Mekong (Morgan Page Remix)* 5:29 $0.99 Add to Cart
*Bonus Tracks Available as Digital Download Only
Website Powered by Bandzoogle. DENGUE FEVER Store Powered by Topspin.
Report a Problem